The LPG Turns 40!

2015 marks four decades of supporting and celebrating some of the finest literary presses in all of Canada. The Literary Press Group is a homegrown collective of diverse, robust, and fiercely independent literary publishing houses. Since 1975, our association and its members have worked tirelessly to support Canadian writers and each other, as well as to champion the value and viability of the Canadian literary arts scene.

Ottawa Book Awards Reveal 2015 Finalists

The City of Ottawa recently announced the finalists for the 2015 Ottawa Book Awards. The awards, handed out to titles in both French and English, celebrate the best in fiction and non-fiction works by authors from the Greater Ottawa Area, published in the last year.

We'd like to offer our congratulations to two of our members and their authors who received nominations:

Brick Books & Deanna Young for her poetry collection House Dreams, nominated for the Fiction prize, and

In House: Now or Never Publishing

While some may ascribe to literary pursuits a certain dandy quality – think readings in meadows, herbal teas – Now or Never Publishing and its edgy books decisively shakes this off; even their moniker reads: “We may publish prose, but we can still kick your ass.” A boutique publisher located in Vancouver, BC, Now or Never (NON) graces fiction, nonfiction, poetry and memoir titles with its iconic, “scrabble-tile” logo.

Vici Johnstone Receives the 2015 Jim Douglas Publisher of the Year Award

The Association of Book Publishers of BC has announced the winner of the 2015 Jim Douglas Publisher of the Year Award and it is none other than LPG member Caitlin Press, under the leadership of Vici Johnstone!

Cited for her energy and commitment to creating books by and about women, and stories from the Central Interior BC, since she took over the press in 2005, Johnstone was presented the award on September 17th at an awards dinner.

In House: Kegedonce Press

Established in 1993, Kegedonce Press’ motto is “w’daub awae” (“speaking true”), and they certainly practice what they preach. Kegedonce fosters the creative cultural expression of Indigenous Peoples through the publication of books that involve Indigenous Peoples in all levels of production, and by supporting activities that promote the development of Indigenous literature and publishing. Based in Neyaashiinigmiing, Ontario, Kegedonce has done so through its publishing program as well as educating the public and developing national and international markets for Indigenous literature.

Toronto Poet Eva H.D. Wins the 2015 Montreal International Poetry Prize

Toronto poet Eva H.D. was awarded the 2015 Montreal International Poetry Prize for her poem "38 Michigans". The poem was selected by this year's judge, Eavan Boland, from a shortlist of 51 poems submitted from 10 countries. These poems will be published as an anthology this fall by Vehicule Press.

Eva H.D. lives in Toronto and recently published her debut poetry collection, Rotten Perfect Mouth, with LPG member Mansfield Press.

Congratulations Eva!

Freehand Wins Three Alberta Book Publishing Awards

The Book Publishers Association of Alberta announced the winners of their 2015 awards on September 18th at Fort Edmonton Park. At the gala event, hosted by Ken Davis, six Alberta publishers were celebrated across ten award categories.

We'd like to congratulate all the winners, especially LPG member Freehand Books!

Freehand took home three awards for two of their recent titles:

Boundary Problems, a collection of stories by Greg Bechtel, won the Trade Fiction Award, and

In House: ARP Books

Publishing works of progressive non-fiction and select fiction and poetry since 1996, ARP Books started slowly; the brainchild of two roommates in a Winnipeg apartment. Todd Scarth was working for Blizzard Publishing in Winnipeg, and John Samson had met the AK Press and Distribution collective in San Francisco and was inspired by their work. With their shared interests in progressive politics, literature, and publishing as a whole, starting the press seemed like a no-brainer.

2015 Victoria Book Prize Nominees Announced

The City of Victoria Book Prize Society recently announced the nominees for the 2015 City of Victoria Butler Book Prize and the Bolen Books Children's Book Prize. Handed out annually, the prizes are given to the best works of fiction, non-fiction, or poetry by a Great Victoria author, in the case of the Butler Prize, and to the author or illustrator of the best children's book from the last year, for the Bolen Prize. Nominees, and ultimately the winners, are selected by two independent juries from the literary arts community.

In House: ECW Press

ECW Press, just a year the LPG's senior at the ripe age of 41, has been a prominent member of the Literary Press Group since its inception, and has remained in cahoots ever since. As a press, it's emerged from a very literary background (with the journal Essays on Canadian Writing) to a dynamic publisher that's true to its lit roots but never afraid to branch out into projects with a little more star-power (Nicolas Cage retrospective, anyone?).


Subscribe to LPG Members Site RSS