In House: ARP Books

Publishing works of progressive non-fiction and select fiction and poetry since 1996, ARP Books started slowly; the brainchild of two roommates in a Winnipeg apartment. Todd Scarth was working for Blizzard Publishing in Winnipeg, and John Samson had met the AK Press and Distribution collective in San Francisco and was inspired by their work. With their shared interests in progressive politics, literature, and publishing as a whole, starting the press seemed like a no-brainer.

2015 Victoria Book Prize Nominees Announced

The City of Victoria Book Prize Society recently announced the nominees for the 2015 City of Victoria Butler Book Prize and the Bolen Books Children's Book Prize. Handed out annually, the prizes are given to the best works of fiction, non-fiction, or poetry by a Great Victoria author, in the case of the Butler Prize, and to the author or illustrator of the best children's book from the last year, for the Bolen Prize. Nominees, and ultimately the winners, are selected by two independent juries from the literary arts community.

In House: ECW Press

ECW Press, just a year the LPG's senior at the ripe age of 41, has been a prominent member of the Literary Press Group since its inception, and has remained in cahoots ever since. As a press, it's emerged from a very literary background (with the journal Essays on Canadian Writing) to a dynamic publisher that's true to its lit roots but never afraid to branch out into projects with a little more star-power (Nicolas Cage retrospective, anyone?).

Cease is Nominated for the 2015 Hilary Weston Non-Fiction Prize

The Writers' Trust of Canada recently announced the finalists for this year's Hilary Weston Non-fiction Prize. Since 1997, the Weston Prize has been celebrating the best in Canadian non-fiction writing, from history to biography, essay to memoir, and commentary to criticism. This year's nominees were selected by a three-member jury of Stevie Cameron, Will Ferguson, and JJ Lee.

We'd like to congratulate Oolichan Books and Lynette Loeppky on receiving a nomination!

In House: BookThug

BookThug is a Toronto press that has been constantly evolving since it began operating as a micropress back in 1992. At that time the publisher, Jay MillAr, was working as a poetry editor at Coach House Books (learn all about them here) while publishing chapbooks, broadsides, and other limited editions on the side.

2015 Giller Prize Longlist Revealed

The nominees for this year's Scotiabank Giller Prize were recently announced and it was a celebration of independent Canadian publishering. Needless to say, we were delighted. The Giller Prize is one of the richest literary prizes in Canada, annually honouring excellence in Canadian fiction, whether that's a novel or a collection of stories.

This year we're happy to see four titles by two LPG member publishers on the list! Congratulations to Coach House Books and Biblioasis!

In House: Guernica Editions

Guernica Editions has been publishing books that highlight the multicultural aspects of Canada since 1978. Started by Antonio D’Alfonso after a trip to Europe, he gave the press the name ‘Guernica’ after Picasso’s painting that has become a plea for peace. They strive to publish books that will make this world a better place in which to live and love.

Besner & Coles Receive Writers' Trust 5 x 5 Awards

The Writers' Trust recently announced the winners of a one-time prize for emerging writers, "Five x Five." Through the RBC Emerging Artists Project, five previous Writers' Trust award honourees each selected an emerging artist that have either publisher a debut novel or collection or have published work with a literary magazine that they feel have the potential to become the next CanLit superstars.

We'd like to congratulat Linda Besner and Megan Gail Coles on being selected by Ken Babstock and Michael Crummey, respectively.

2015 Toronto Book Award Finalists Announced

The finalists for the 2015 Toronto Book Award were recently announced. This is the 41st year for the prize, which was originally established by the Toronto City Council. The awards are meant to celebrate and bring attention to books of literary and/or artistic merit that are resonant with the city. The finalists, and ultimately the winner, are chosen by a volunteer committee that changes annually.

We'd like to congratulate two of our members and their authors who received nominations:


Subscribe to LPG Members Site RSS