League of Canadian Poets Announces 2015 Award Winners

The League of Canadian Poets announced the winners of the Raymond Souster Award, the Pat Lowther and Gerald Lampert Memorial Awards, and the Sheri-D Wilson Golden Beret Award at their annual conference and festival, held this year in Winnipeg, Manitoba. In a joint press conference with the Writers Union of Canada, the League offered their congratulations to their year's recipients, celebrating the best in poetry from the past year.

We'd like to offer our congratulations to our two members with winning poets:

Carmelita McGrath Wins the 2015 EJ Pratt Award

Congratulations to Goose Lane Editions and Carmelita McGrath on taking home the 2015 EJ Pratt Award for her poetry collection, Escape Velocity. Handed out by the Newfoundland Literary Arts Foundation and Writers' Alliance, the award is given out every two years, along with an award for a work of non-fiction and alternating with works of fiction and young adult literature, to celebrate the best in writing from the province's writing community.

LPG at Congress 2015

Saturday, May 30, 2015 - 09:00

The LPG will be exhibiting over 100 titles from our members at this year's Congress of the Humanities and Social Sciences, May 30 - June 2. If you're attending the event please stop by to peruse and buy from our great selection of CanLit.

2015 Trillium Book Award Finalists Announced

The Ontario Media Development Corporation (OMDC) announced the finalists for the 2015 Trillium Book Awards, celebrating the quality and diversity to be found in Ontario writers and writing. Handed out since 1987, the Trillium Award gives out prizes to books in both French and English, for the best in Fiction, Poetry, and Children's Literature.

We'd like to congratulate our members who received nominations this year:

BookThug and Aisha Sasha John for Thou for the English Poetry Award

2015 East Coast Literary Awards Shortlists Celebrated

The Writers' Federation of Nova Scotia recently celebrated the announcement of the shortlist for this year's awards. Each year these awards highlight the quality and diversity to be found among the work by Atlantic Canadians in fiction, non-fiction, and poetry.

We'd like to celebrate our members & their authors who receved nominations:

Brick Books & Susan Paddon for Two Tragedies in 429 Breaths, which was nominated for the JM Abraham Poetry Award

2015 Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award Longlist Announced

The longlist for the 2015 Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award was announced just in time for the beginning of Short Story Month. The award is given out by the City of Cork in remembrance of Frank O'Connor, one of the world's most renowed short story writers. One of the richest prized in the world for short stories, the Cork City Council hands out the prize annually at the end of the Frank O'Connor International Short Story Festival. The longlist was recently announced; a jury will decide the shortlist, which will be announced early in June.


Subscribe to LPG Members Site RSS