New Tab & Pedal Nominated for the 2015 First Novel Award and the Walrus Foundation revealed the nominees for the 2015 First Novel Award on April 1st. Since 1976 this award has been recognizing the fantastic achievements of debut Canadian fiction writers. This year's shortlist was selected by head judge, Nick Mount, who is the fiction editor at The Walrus.

We'd like to congratulate two of our members who had authors selected this year:

Caitlin Press & Chelsea Rooney for Pedal

Megan Gail Coles Wins the 2014 Winterset Award!

The Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council announced Megan Gail Coles as the winner of the 2014 Winterset Award on March 26th, beating out fellow nominees Michael Crummey and Alan Doyle. The award celebrates excellence in writing by those from Newfoundland and Labrador.

Coles won the award for her debut collection of stories, Eating Habits of the Chronically Lonesome, published by LPG member Creative Book Publishing last fall.

In House: Freehand Books

Freehand Books was founded in 2007 with a simple mandate: to publish excellent Canadian literature.

And they started off with a bang—Melanie Little, Freehand's first Managing Editor, published Marina Endicott's Giller Prize-nominated Good to a Fault as the press's debut title. In addition to the Giller nod, Quill & Quire named Freehand "Rookie of the Year" and CBA nominated them for Small Press of the Year in 2008.

BC Book Prize Finalists Announced

Recently the West Coast Book Prize Society announced the finalists for this year's BC Book Prizes. Presently annually since 1985, prizes are handed out in seven different categories, all celebrating the achievements of writers and publishers hailing from British Columbia.

We'd like to congratulate our members and their authors who received nominations this year:


Subscribe to LPG Members Site RSS