Tightrope Books

Toronto , ON

Tightrope Books was established in January 2005 to bring a fresh take to Canadian literature by juxtaposing new and established writers, genres, and cultures to build an inclusive list that represents the vitality of current Canadian literature. They are dedicated to publishing new cultural creators who walk the fine balance between innovation and accessibility. Tightrope publishes fiction, poetry, books on art, creative non-fiction (essays, memoir), and books that defy normative categorical garrisons.

Sales and Distribution

Canada: Sales: Canadian Manda Group, Distribution: IPG
US: Sales & Distribution: Independent Publishers Group

Oolichan Books

Fernie, BC

The name "oolichan" is taken from the small fish, once plentiful in West Coast waters and a staple in the diet of First Nations people to whom it was sacred. The oolichan, often referred to as the candlefish, is believed to possess healing powers and guarantee longevity. Oolichan Books is a literary press, publishing poetry, fiction and non-fiction titles including literary criticism, memoirs, and books on regional history, First Nations, and policy issues.

To learn more about Oolichan Books, read our profile.

Sales and Distribution

Canada: Sales: Canadian Manda Group, Distribution: University of Toronto Press
US: Sales: Literary Press Group, Distribution: University of Toronto Press

ReLit Awards Announce 2014 Winners

The ReLit Awards announced their 2014 winners recently. The awards are handed out annually to the best poetry, short fiction, and novel released by independent publishers over the past year.

This year's winners included two LPG members. Congratulations to:

Brick Books and Charmaine Cadeau for Placeholder, winner of the poetry prize, and

Anvil Press and Nathaniel G. Moore for Savage 1986-2011, winner of the fiction prize.

2015 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award Longlist Announced

The longlist for the 2015 International IMPAC Dublic Literary Award was announced by the Dublin City Public Libraries on November 24th. The 2015 award marks the 20th year, celebrating a novel written in English or translated into English annually in order to promote excellence in world literature. The longlist is created by submissions from library systems in major cities from around the world.

We'd like to congratulate all the longlisted titles but especially those that were published by our very own LPG members, rounding out a very strong Canadian presence on the list.

QWF Awards 2014 Book Prizes

The Quebec Writers' Federation announced the winners of their 2014 awards at a gala event November 18th in Montreal. Celebrating the best in English-language writing coming out of Quebec, these awards are given out every year in the categories of Fiction, Non-Fiction, Poetry, First Book, Translation, and Children's & Young Adult Literature.

Congratulations to Invisible Publishing and Coach House Books on their wins:

Sweet Affliction by Anna Leventhal (Invisible) won the Concordia University First Book Prize

2014 Governor General's Literary Award Winners Revealed

The 2014 winners of the Governor General's Literary Awards were announced November 18th. Each year the GG's honour the best in Canadian writing, in both English and French, in the categories of Fiction, Non-Fiction, Poetry, Drama, Children's Text and Children's Illustration, as well as Translation.

We'd like to congratulate our members and their authors on taking home an award this year:

Poetry (English): Brick Books and Arleen Pare for Lake of Two Mountains


Subscribe to LPG Members Site RSS