2016 Trillium Book Award Nominees Announced

The Ontario Media Development Corporation (OMDC) announced the finalists for the 2016 Trillium Book Awards, celebrating the quality and diversity to be found in Ontario writers and writing. Handed out since 1987, the Trillium Award gives out prizes to books in both French and English, for the best in Fiction, Poetry, and Children's Literature.

We'd like to congratulate our members who received nominations this year:

Biblioasis and Kevin Hardcastle for Debris for the English Fiction Award

2015 Danuta Gleed Literary Award Shortlist Announced

The Writers' Union of Canada recently announced the shortlist for the 2015 Danuta Gleed Literary Award. Celebrating the best first collection of short fiction by a Canadian author published in the last year in the English language, the award was created to honour the life of Danuta Gleed, a writer whose short fiction won several awards before her death in December 1996. The shortlist was selected by a jury, comprised of the writers Shauna Singh Baldwin, Barry Dempster, and Dora Dueck.

Congratulations to our members & their authors who received nominations:

2016 BC Book Prize Winners Released

The West Coast Book Prize Society released the names of the winners for this year's BC Book Prizes at a special event in Vancouver on April 30th. Presented annually since 1985, prizes are handed out in seven different categories, all celebrating the achievements of writers and publishers hailing from British Columbia.

We'd like to congratulate Nightwood Editions and Raoul Fernandes for winning the Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize for Transmitter and Receiver

2016 Saskatchewan Book Award Winners Announced

The Saskatchewan Book Awards announced the winners of their 2016 awards, celebrating the best in writing and publishing throughout the province, at a gala event in Regina on April 30th. Three publishing prizes were handed out in addition to ten writing prizes, in categories such as fiction, poetry, non-fiction, and scholarly writing.

Congratulations to our members & their authors who received awards:

2016 Stephen Leacock Award Longlist Revealed

The Leacock Associates recently revealed the longlist for the 2016 Stephen Leacock Award for Humour, which honours the legacy and writing of Stephen Leacock. The only prize of its kind in Canada, the award annually celebrates the best in Canadian humour writing.

We'd like to offer our congratulations to all the nominees, especially to our members and their authors, including:

Brindle & Glass & Aaron Cully Drake for Do You Think This is Strange?

2016 Atlantic Book Award Winners Released

For the first time the winners of the Atlantic Book Awards were announced at a bilingual gala event in New Brunswick. Hosted by Philippe Beaulieu and Rayanne Brennan, fourteen winners were feted for their work, the best of Atlantic Canadian writing over the last year. The event was also the conclusion to a week-long festival of books that ran from April 20-27 through all four Atlantic provinces.

We'd like to offer our congratulations to the winners, especially our members and their authors, including:

Amazon.ca Reveals 2016 First Novel Award Nominees

Amazon.ca is celebrating the 40th anniversary of their First Novel Award. Every year since 1976 the award has recognized the exceptional talent of a first time novelist. This year's shortlist was selected by a panel of judges, including Russell Brown, Gurjinder Basran, and Nick Mount. This year was an banner year for nominations for small Canadian presses (and Literary Press Group members), taking four of the six spots.

Congratulations to our members and their authors who received nominatations this year:

Kobo Announces Emerging Writer Prize Shortlists

Kobo, the ereader and ebook retailer, announced the shortlists for their second annual emerging writer prize. Supporting talented debut authors, they hand out prizes for literary fiction, non-fiction, and romance. The shortlists were selected by a judge in each category, including Gail Anderson-Dargatz (literary fiction), Camilla Gibb (non-fiction), and Lynsay Sands (romance).

Congratulations to our members and their authors who received nominations:

Griffin Poetry Prize Reveals 2016 Shortlists

Both the international and Canadian shortlists for the 2016 Griffin Poetry Prize were revealed on April 12th. The most lucrative poetry prize in the world, the Griffin is given to the best first edition of poetry in English to celebrate and raise awareness for the important place poetry plays in our cultural lives.

Congratulations to our members and their authors who made the Canadian shortlist this year:


Subscribe to LPG Members Site RSS