Independent Publisher Announces 2016 IPPY Award Winners

Independent Publisher magazine recently announced the winners for the 2016 Independent Publisher Book Awards. They handed out gold, silver, and bronze medals to titles in 80 National, 9 Outstanding Books of the Year, and 34 Regional and E-Book categories, all celebrating the best in independent authors and publishers.

Congratulations to our members and their authors who received medals:

Breakwater Books

The League of Canadian Poets Reveals 2016 Poetry Awards Shortlist

As part of their celebration of National Poetry Month, the League of Canadian Poets revealed the 2016 Poetry Awards shortlist recently. The awards---Gerald Lampert and Pat Lowther Memorial Awards, the Raymond Souster Award, and Sheri-D Wilson Golden Beret Award---celebrate the best in recent poetry publications.

Congratulations to our members & their poets:

Anvil Press & Melissa Bull for Rue, nominated for the Gerald Lampert Memorial Award 

2016 Atlantic Book Awards Shortlist Announced

The Atlantic Book Awards Society recently announced the shortlist for this year's slate of awards, celebrating the best writing published by local authors over the last twelve months. This year thirteen awards will be handed out, including the inaugural Alistair MacLeod Award for Short Fiction.

Congratulations to our members and their authors:

Breakwater Books & editor Lisa Moore for Racket: New Writing Made in Newfoundland, nominated for APMA Best Atlantic-Published Book Award

Stonehouse Publishing

Edmonton, AB

Founded in 2014, Stonehouse Publishing publishes literary and trade fiction, with a special focus on historical fiction. Their list includes a diverse selection of titles and authors, and they have plans to re-release classic works in the near future. Stonehouse is devoted to good literature, effective marketing, and an engaging aesthetic. Publishing 5-8 titles annually, Stonehouse is nestled in the alternately dusty and snowy Canadian Prairies.

Sales and Distribution

Canada: Sales: Canadian Manda Group, Distribution: LitDistCo
US: Sales: Literary Press Group, Distribution: LitDistCo

2016 BC Book Prize Shortlists Released

Recently the West Coast Book Prize Society announced the finalists for this year's BC Book Prizes. Presented annually since 1985, prizes are handed out in seven different categories, all celebrating the achievements of writers and publishers hailing from British Columbia.

We'd like to congratulate our members and their authors who received nominations this year:

Nominees for the 2016 Lambda Awards Revealed

The nominees for the 28th annual Lambda Literary Awards were revealed after the foundation received a record number of submissions this year. Since 1989, the Lammys, as they are also known, have celebrated achievement in lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) literature. This year's awards will be handed out to books published in 2015 across 25 different categories.

The LPG would like to congratulate our members and their authors who received nominations:

2015 Winterset Award Nominations Announced

The Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council recently announced the nominees for the 2015 Winterset Award. The award, handed out since 2000, celebrates the best in Newfoundland and Labrador writing published in the past year. This year's shortlist was selected by a jury consisting of Chris Brookes, Megan Coles, and Randy Street.

Congratulations to our LPG members, who have claimed all three nominations this year!

Breakwater Books & Leslie Vryenhoek for Ledger of the Open Hand

2016 Saskatchewan Book Awards Shortlist Announced

The Saskatchewan Book Awards announced their 2016 shortlists, celebrating the best in writing and publishing throughout the province. Three publishing prizes are handed out in addition to ten writing prizes, in categories such as fiction, poetry, non-fiction, and scholarly writing.

Congratulations to our members & their authors who received nominations:

Coteau Books, is nominated for the Publishing Award for Wild Rose by Sharon Butala

Mother Tongue Publishing

Salt Spring Island, BC

Mother Tongue Publishing is a West Coast literary press that publishes fiction, art, history, poetry, and anthologies by BC writers. Home of the Great BC Novel Contest.

Sales and Distribution

Canada: Sales & Distribution: Heritage Group
US: Sales & Distribution: Heritage Group


Subscribe to LPG Members Site RSS