In House: Brindle & Glass

Brindle & Glass may be part of the British Columbia publishing landscape now, but it actually began in Edmonton, Alberta in 2001. The press was co-founded by Ruth Linka and Lee Shedden after sharing their love of reading and ideas for new books over several conversations.

City of Vancouver Book Award Finalists Announced

The City of Vancouver recently announced the four finalists for this year's award, to be presented at the Mayor's Arts Awards ceremony at the Roundhouse Community Arts and Recreation Centre on November 12, 2015. This is the 27th year for the award, which celebrates books that reflect Vancouver's unique character, culture, and history.

We'd like to congratulate our two members who received three nominations:

In House: Conundrum Press

Conundrum Press is about to celebrate its own big anniversary: 2016 will mark its twentieth year of publishing books!

Conundrum Press started in 1996 in Montreal, Quebec as a way “to give voice to the under-represented working in the underground anglo cultural milieu,” according to publisher Andy Brown. The press first began making chapbooks for local writers and cartoonists but soon morphed into “genre-defying” books with spines.

OLA Announces Forest of Reading Nominees for 2016

The Forest of Reading initiative from the Ontario Library Association is Canada's largest recreational reading program. Through eight categories, readers of all ages can help celebrate Canadian books, publishers, authors and illustrators and are encouraged to develop a love of reading. According to OLA, more than 250,000 readers participate annually through either their school and/or public library.

We would like to congratulate two of our members who received nominations in the Silve Birch category, which are books for grades three to six:

Code Canada Reveals 2015 Burt Award Winners

Code -- a Canadian charitable organization for the advancement of literacy and learning -- announced the winners of the 2015 Burt Award for First Nations, Metis, and Inuit Literature. The award aims "to provide engaging and culturally-relevant books for young people across Canada by recognizing excellence in English-language literary works for Young Adults by First Nations, Métis and Inuit authors." This is the third year the award, administed by the Canada Council for the Arts, has been handed out with winners selected by a jury of Canadian writers.

Quebec Writers' Federation Announces 2015 Award Nominees

The Quebec Writers’ Federation recently announced the nominees for their 2015 awards. Each year the awards are handed out to the best English-language writers to emerge from Quebec in the categories of Fiction, Non-Fiction, Poetry, First Book, Translation, and Children’s and Young Adult Literature.

Congratulations to our members and their authors who received nominations:

BookThug & Mike Steeves for Giving Up, nominated for the  Concordia University First Book Prize

In House: Coteau Books

Coteau Books was founded in 1975 by four writers in Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan who saw the need for a publishing house that would focus on writing from the Prairies, and, in particular, writing from Saskatchewan. 40 years - and almost 500 books - later, Coteau has established itself as a publishing house of merit and integrity. At its head is new publisher John Agnew, who shared with us his zeal for literary publishing and where Coteau will go next.

* * *

In House: Ronsdale Press

Founded in 1988, Vancouver’s Ronsdale Press is dedicated to publishing books from across Canada, books that give Canadians renewed insight into themselves and their country. After  writing the annual roundup for the University of Toronto Quarterly for some years, founder and current publisher Ronald Hatch saw the need for a publishing house that was not focused on one style of writing. His Ronsdale Press fit the bill: selecting books across all writing styles, age groups, and genres, aiming to publish the best of Canadian writing from all quarters.

In House: Arsenal Pulp Press

Vancouver-based Arsenal Pulp Press publishes books that engage and challenge readers and ask probing questions about the world around us. From Vegetarian cookbooks to LGBTQ stories, Arsenal has always made the voices at the edges of society stand out, in award-winning, interesting, challenging books. Their publishing mandate, committed to giving voice to writers who work from the margins, whether social, cultural, racial, sexual, or gender-based; and to publishing work by new voices subverting old systems, goes right back to their roots.


Subscribe to LPG Members Site RSS