In House: Creative Book Publishing

Continuing with our Atlantic Canada spotlight, we have another Newfoundland publisher: Creative Book Publishing.

Creative actually started as a printer. In 1982 Dan Morgan and two business associates bought the presses of Creative Printers and Publishers. "It was basically a printing business," Morgan said, but "people kept sending in manuscripts because Creative's full name had the word 'publishers.' We kept sending them back, saying we were not in that kind of publishing."

In House: Breakwater Books

Anyone who is a fan of “Canadian Literature” will agree that the province of Newfoundland has been producing some amazing literary talent for quite some time now. Way back in the 1970s, five professors at Memorial University of Newfoundland and Labrador had already recognized this fact and acted upon it.

LPG Members Claim 3 of 5 Spots on the 2015 Giller Prize Shortlist

The shortlist for the 2015 Giller Prize was announced by the jury this week at a press conference hosted by Rick Mercer at a Toronto art gallery. The previously announced longlist featured more titles by independent Canadian presses than past years and the shortlist confirmed that this year's jury is definitely indie-friendly.

Congratulations to Coach House Books and Biblioasis who claimed three of the five shortlist spots!

In House: Biblioasis

Biblioasis was founded in the back of a bookstore in the fall of 2004. Without knowing much, or anything really, about publishing, their first book was Salvator Ala’s Straight Razor and Other Poems. An exciting experience but one that also highlighted the fact that if they were going to keep doing this whole publishing thing, they were going to need to learn a few things.

Writers' Trust of Canada Announces 2015 Fiction Award Nominees

The Writers' Trust of Canada announced the nominees for the 2015 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize at Ben McNally Books in Toronto on September 29th. The award recognizes exceptional literary talent through the best novel or short story collection from the past year. This year's shortlist was selected by the three-person jury of writers Aislinn Hunter, Shani Mootoo, and Richard Wagamese.

Congratulations to our members who received nominations:

The LPG Turns 40!

2015 marks four decades of supporting and celebrating some of the finest literary presses in all of Canada. The Literary Press Group is a homegrown collective of diverse, robust, and fiercely independent literary publishing houses. Since 1975, our association and its members have worked tirelessly to support Canadian writers and each other, as well as to champion the value and viability of the Canadian literary arts scene.

Ottawa Book Awards Reveal 2015 Finalists

The City of Ottawa recently announced the finalists for the 2015 Ottawa Book Awards. The awards, handed out to titles in both French and English, celebrate the best in fiction and non-fiction works by authors from the Greater Ottawa Area, published in the last year.

We'd like to offer our congratulations to two of our members and their authors who received nominations:

Brick Books & Deanna Young for her poetry collection House Dreams, nominated for the Fiction prize, and

In House: Now or Never Publishing

While some may ascribe to literary pursuits a certain dandy quality – think readings in meadows, herbal teas – Now or Never Publishing and its edgy books decisively shakes this off; even their moniker reads: “We may publish prose, but we can still kick your ass.” A boutique publisher located in Vancouver, BC, Now or Never (NON) graces fiction, nonfiction, poetry and memoir titles with its iconic, “scrabble-tile” logo.

Vici Johnstone Receives the 2015 Jim Douglas Publisher of the Year Award

The Association of Book Publishers of BC has announced the winner of the 2015 Jim Douglas Publisher of the Year Award and it is none other than LPG member Caitlin Press, under the leadership of Vici Johnstone!

Cited for her energy and commitment to creating books by and about women, and stories from the Central Interior BC, since she took over the press in 2005, Johnstone was presented the award on September 17th at an awards dinner.


Subscribe to LPG Members Site RSS